Commonly called “The Island of Beauty”, Corsica, island of the Mediterranean, is composed of 2 departments: “Haute Corse” (upper part) where the city of Bastia is located, and South Corsica and its capital Ajaccio. With a surface area of 8722 km2 including more than 1000km of coastline, Corsica is one of the largest islands in the Mediterranean after Sicily and Sardinia. It has a population of about 300 000 inhabitants and the languages spoken are French and Corsican. A French territory since 1768, Corsica nevertheless remains marked by Italian influences. 

It offers varied landscapes: coastal towns, forests and mountains such as the peak of Monte Cinto, its highest point. The island also has many preserved natural areas: rivers, lakes, nature reserves, international marine park… Almost half of the island’s territory is classified as a natural park. 

As for the Mediterranean climate, in summer temperatures vary from 25 to 30°C, while winter is harsher, especially in the mountains, where the winds are quite strong.  

Accessible also by boat, the plane is still the fastest way to get there, with a flight time of between 1 hour and 1h30 from most of the major cities in France. In Corsica, there are 4 airports: Ajaccio, Bastia, Calvi and Figari.